Dr. Jan-Michael Grages

T +49 (0)40 63 60 75 9-0
F +49 (0)40 63 60 75 9-59
E grages@knpz.de

vCard

Jan-Michael advises in IT and data protection law as well as in intellectual property matters as Senior Associate. He has particular industry knowledge in the areas of software licensing, e-commerce and technology transfer.

He supports clients strategically in implementing new business models and drafts contracts to align commercial objectives with legal compliance. He accompanies international M&A transactions and carve-outs from an IP/IT specialist’s perspective. Furthermore, he represents clients when enforcing their rights and litigates in court proceedings.

Jan-Michael studied law with a focus on communication and competition in Hamburg and in Aix-en-Provence. At the Hanover Institute for Legal Informatics, he obtained a doctorate degree in copyright and licensing matters. For his dissertation “Orphan Works”, he was awarded the faculty price of Leibniz University.

He performed his legal clerkship at the Higher Regional Court in Hamburg and worked for a public broadcasting corporation as well as a major search engine company based in the US. Moreover, he worked for the German Mission to the United Nations in New York and for Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer as well as other international law firms.

Jan-Michael is fluent in German, English and French. He is a member of the German Association of Law and Informatics as well as the German Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property. He works for KNPZ Attorneys since 2012.

back to overview

Dr. Jan-Michael Grages

T +49 (0)40 63 60 75 9-0
F +49 (0)40 63 60 75 9-59
E grages@knpz.de

vCard

Jan-Michael Grages berät als Senior Associate im IT- und Datenschutzrecht sowie im gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und Urheberrecht. Besondere Branchenkenntnisse besitzt er in den Gebieten Softwarelizenzierung, Internetvertrieb und Technologietransfer.

Er unterstützt Mandanten strategisch bei der rechtssicheren Umsetzung neuer Geschäftsmodelle und gestaltet Verträge, um kommerzielle Zielsetzungen mit rechtlichen Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten in Einklang zu bringen. Internationale M&A-Transaktionen und Carve-Outs begleitet er aus der Perspektive des Spezialisten für IP/IT. Zudem vertritt er Mandanten bei der Durchsetzung ihrer Rechte und in streitigen Verfahren.

Jan-Michael Grages studierte Rechtswissenschaften mit den Schwerpunkten Kommunikations- und Wettbewerbsrecht in Hamburg und Aix-en-Provence. Am Institut für Rechtsinformatik in Hannover promovierte er zu einem urheber- und lizenzrechtlichen Thema. Die Dissertation „Verwaiste Werke“ wurde mit dem Fakultätspreis der Leibniz Universität ausgezeichnet.

Er absolvierte sein Referendariat beim Hanseatischen Oberlandesgericht Hamburg und war für eine öffentliche Rundfunkanstalt und einen US-amerikanischen Suchmaschinenanbieter tätig. Daneben arbeitete er für die Deutsche Vertretung bei den Vereinten Nationen in New York sowie für Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer und weitere internationale Großkanzleien.

Jan-Michael Grages spricht Deutsch, Englisch und Französisch. Er ist Mitglied der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Recht und Informatik sowie der Deutschen Vereinigung für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und Urheberrecht. Seit 2012 ist er für KNPZ Rechtsanwälte tätig.

zurück zur Übersicht