Dr. Kai-Uwe Plath, LL.M.

T +49 (0)40 63 60 75 9-0
F +49 (0)40 63 60 75 9-59
E plath@knpz.de

vCard

Kai-Uwe Plath advises on Commercial Agreements, IT/E-Commerce, Biotechnology and on all aspects of IP law in the context of M&A transactions. During the past years, he was involved in a number of prominent transactions, such as establishing the pay-tv station Arena and supporting the Unitymedia group in negotiations for the exploitation of the German football rights. In the pharmaceuticals sector, amongst others, he advised Mylan Laboratories on the acquisition of the Merck Generica unit and advised Probiodrug AG on selling a diabetes research programme to Prosidion OSI. In the IT sector, Kai-Uwe Plath was particularly involved in outsourcing projects.

Kai-Uwe Plath has been a member of the Hamburg Bar of lawyers since 2000. Before the foundation of KNPZ, he was a member of the IP/IT practice group at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer for over seven years. Kai-Uwe Plath studied law at the University of Hamburg where he earned a Doctor of Law (Doc.iur.) degree in Sports Law. He also received a Master of Law degree in the field of International Transactions and Intellectual Property from Columbia University, New York, where he also worked as a research assistant. He spent further parts of his legal training in London and Los Angeles.

Kai-Uwe Plath is a member of the expert committee on IT law of the Hamburg Bar of Lawyers where he is responsible for awarding the IT-Fachanwalt title, a title awarded to lawyers specialised in this area of law, and of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Rechtsinformatik (DGRI). He regularly speaks at conferences and publishes articles in legal journals, particularly in the legal commentary on the German Data Protection Act and the General Data Protection Regulation he publishes: http://www.otto-schmidt.de/bdsg-dsgvo.html

back to overview

Dr. Kai-Uwe Plath, LL.M.

T +49 (0)40 63 60 75 9-0
F +49 (0)40 63 60 75 9-59
E plath@knpz.de

vCard

Kai-Uwe Plath berät in den Bereichen Commercial Agreements, IT/E-Commerce, Datenschutz, Pharma/Biotechnologie sowie in sämtlichen Fragen des IP-Rechts im Rahmen von M&A-Transaktionen.Auf diesen Gebieten war er in den letzten Jahren im Rahmen einer Vielzahl prominenter Transaktionen tätig. So war er maßgeblich an dem Aufbau des Pay-TV Senders Arena beteiligt und hat die Unitymedia Gruppe federführend bei deren Verhandlungen über die Verwertung der Rechte an der Fußball-Bundesliga begleitet. Im Bereich Pharma war er unter anderem für Mylan Laboratories bei dem Erwerb der Merck Generika Sparte aktiv und hat die Probiodrug AG bei dem Verkauf eines Diabetis-Forschungsprogramms an Prosidion OSI beraten. Im Bereich des IT-Rechts ist Kai-Uwe Plath insbesondere im Rahmen von Outsourcing-Projekten tätig.

Kai-Uwe Plath ist seit dem Jahr 2000 in Hamburg als Anwalt zugelassen. Vor der Gründung von KNPZ gehörte er über sieben Jahre der Praxisgruppe IP/IT der Kanzlei Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer an. Kai-Uwe Plath hat an der Universität Hamburg studiert und im Bereich Sportrecht promoviert. Zudem hat er im Rahmen eines Masterstudiengangs an der Columbia University, New York den Titel eines Master of Laws (LL.M.) mit Schwerpunkt im Bereich International Transactions und Intellectual Property erworben und dort als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter gearbeitet. Weitere Stationen seiner Ausbildung hat er in London und Los Angeles verbracht.

Kai-Uwe Plath ist Mitglied des Fachausschusses IT-Recht der Hamburger Anwaltskammer, zuständig für die Vergabe der IT-Fachanwaltsbezeichnung, sowie der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Rechtsinformatik (DGRI). Er tritt regelmäßig als Sprecher bei Vortragsveranstaltungen auf und publiziert in juristischen Fachzeitschriften, insbesondere als Autor des von ihm herausgegebenen Kommentars zum Bundesdatenschutzgesetz (BDSG) und zur Datenschutzgrundverordnung (DSGVO): http://www.otto-schmidt.de/bdsg-dsgvo.html