Dr. Mathias Zintler, LL.M.

T +49 (0)40 63 60 75 9-0
F +49 (0)40 63 60 75 9-59
E zintler@knpz.de

vCard

Mathias Zintler provides legal advice on the entire range of intellectual property and distribution law. His core areas of advice encompass brand, competition and design law, as well as international IP litigation management. In particular, Mathias litigates in infringement and invalidity proceedings with a focus on biotechnology and patent law. In these areas, he acts on behalf of various leading technology businesses, in particular in the life-science industries, and for international manufacturers of branded and luxury goods, who in particular rely on his expertise for product launches, marketing activities, international portfolio management, and all aspects of advertising law.

Prior to the foundation of KNPZ, Mathias worked for many years as a lawyer at the law firm Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer. He studied law at the universities of Hamburg, Lausanne, Panthéon-Sorbonne, and Paris-Assas. He completed a Master course at the King’s College London in 1999 and was awarded the title Master of Laws (LL.M.) in the field of Intellectual Property. He wrote his doctorate thesis (doc.iur.) on the patentability of biotechnological inventions at the University of Hamburg. Other stages of his legal training involved legal work for UNIDROIT in Rome and the law firm Wilmer Hale in London.

Mathias Zintler regularly publishes essays in legal journals; he frequently lectures on intellectual property rights at Deutsche AnwaltsAkademie as well as at the ISM (International School of Management) in Hamburg, Frankfurt and Munich, and is a recognized speaker on the subject of current legal developments in IP law. Mathias Zintler is a member of the German Regional Group of the LES Licensing Executives Society, an international association of professionals that exclusively addresses questions of technology transfer and the exploitation of industrial and ancillary protection rights, in particular on the expert committee FIT. He is also a member of the German Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (GRUR), INTA Intellectual Trademark Association, ECTA European Communities Trade Mark Association, MARQUES The Association of European Trade Mark Owners, PTMG Pharmaceutical Trade Marks Group and of the German-Italian association of lawyers. Mathias Zintler speaks German, English, French and Italian.

back to overview

Dr. Mathias Zintler, LL.M.

T +49 (0)40 63 60 75 9-0
F +49 (0)40 63 60 75 9-59
E zintler@knpz.de

vCard

Mathias Zintler berät in sämtlichen Bereichen des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes und des Vertriebsrechts. Seine Beratungsschwerpunkte umfassen das Marken-, Wettbewerbs- und Designrecht sowie die Bereiche Technologietransfer-, Biotech- und Patentrecht einschließlich der Führung von Verletzungs- und Nichtigkeitsprozessen. In diesen Gebieten vertritt er eine Vielzahl von führenden Technologieunternehmen, insbesondere im Life-Science-Bereich, sowie international operierende Marken- und Luxusartikelhersteller, die er u.a. bei Produkteinführungen, Marketingaktionen und werberechtlichen Aspekten berät.

Vor der Gründung von KNPZ war Mathias Zintler langjährig als Anwalt in der Kanzlei Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer tätig. Mathias Zintler studierte Rechtswissenschaft an den Universitäten Hamburg, Lausanne, Panthéon-Sorbonne und Paris-Assas. Er erhielt im Rahmen eines Masterstudiengangs am King’s College London 1999 den Titel des Master of Laws (LL.M.) im Bereich Intellectual Properties und promovierte über die Patentierbarkeit biotechnologischer Erfindungen an der Universität Hamburg. Während weitere Stationen seiner Ausbildung war er u.a. für UNIDROIT in Rom und die Kanzlei Wilmer Hale in London tätig.

Mathias Zintler publiziert regelmäßig in juristischen Fachzeitschriften, lehrt gewerblichen Rechtschutz an der ISM (International School of Management), in Hamburg, Frankfurt und München, und hält Vorträge zu den aktuellen Rechtsentwicklungen im IP-Recht. Mathias Zintler ist Mitglied der deutschen Landesgruppe der LES Licensing Executives Society, einer internationalen Vereinigung von Fachleuten, die sich ausschließlich mit Fragen des Technologietransfers und der Verwertung von gewerblichen und verwandten Schutzrechten befassen, dort insbesondere in der Arbeitsgruppe FIT. Er ist außerdem Mitglied der Deutschen Vereinigung für gewerblichen Rechtschutz und Urheberrecht (GRUR), der INTA Intellectual Trademark Association, der ECTA European Communities Trade Mark Association, von MARQUES The Association of European Trade Mark Owners, der PTMG Pharmaceutical Trade Marks Group sowie der Deutsch-Italienischen Juristenvereinigung. Mathias Zintler spricht Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch und Italienisch.

zurück zur Übersicht